for The Story of Stars
SLA Information Book Award Winner 2014

for Extreme Animals
Prix du Jeune Lecteur 2008 , Nanterre, France.

for That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown
Gold Smarties Award 2006

for Bartholomew and the Bug
Bronze Smarties Award 2004

for Jennifer Jones won’t leave me alone
Stockport Childrens Book Award 2004
Sheffield Children’s Book Award 2004
Portsmouth Children’s Book Award 2005

for Oscar and Arabella
Bronze Smarties Award 2002

His books have also been shortlisted for the Red House Book Awards, the Blue Peter Book Awards, the Booktrust Early Years Award, Funfzig Jahre Deutcher Jugendliteraturpreis and Extreme animals was selected for the New York Public Library's annual list of Children's Books 2006.